text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Axe the Shield and the Triton: Tales of Bowdyn 1 von Hockey, James M. (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.05.2011
  • Verlag: Wyrd Sisters Publishing
eBook (ePUB)
12,39 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar

Axe the Shield and the Triton: Tales of Bowdyn 1

Publication Date: 1 July 2011 Series: Tales of Bowdyn (Book 1)These are the tales of Bowdyn, itinerant 17th Century Gleeman, member of an ancient story-telling guild. Rescued from death during the Monmouth rebellion he tells tales of the Dark Ages to his rescuers their friends and neighbours, to entertain, divert and 'sing for his supper'. In this, Book 1 of a series of 5, a lovelorn boy Gewis flees home, joining the Vandals of Carthage, in piracy and war. Years later, a wealthy, seasoned warrior, he returns to save his people from slavery or death. Set in the Dark Ages straddling the Vandal sack of Rome, The Axe the Shield and the Triton is a sweeping yarn of anarchy in a crumbling Empire, where internal conflicts, savage invaders and bands of reavers destroy Imperial order. It is a story of the workings of the Fates, part of a great tapestry in the weaving, changing the history of the world for all time. The series of 5 follows the fate of a group originally inhabiting what is now called Doggerland. This, the first book, introduces Bowdyn the Gleeman who tells the tales. He introduces the main protagonist Gewis and follows through to the migration of his people as he leads them to what will become England. The whole saga develops as Bowdyn over the 5 volumes is encouraged to tell more and more of the history of the Gewissae. It is only in Volume 4 that he tells the villagers the tale of Atland the Lost, their ancient home, lost beneath the sea. The Series consists of: The Axe the Shield and the Triton Vol.1- published,The Axe the Shield and the Halig Rood Vol.2 - published,Edith Fair as a Swan Vol.3 - published,Atland the Lost Vol.4 - under development,Wothans Army Vol.5 - planned.


    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Erscheinungsdatum: 01.05.2011
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9780956687128
    Verlag: Wyrd Sisters Publishing
Weiterlesen weniger lesen