text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
background-image

House of Ulloa von Bazán, Emilia P. (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.08.2013
  • Verlag: Penguin
eBook (ePUB)
3,49 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar

House of Ulloa

This rich and unforgettable story of sexual intrigue and political scheming, written by the Spanish feminist and intellectual Emilia Pardo Bazan, deserves recognition as one of the great nineteenth-century novels. The House of Ulloa follows pure and pious Father Juli n Alvarez, who is sent to a remote country estate to put the affairs of the marquis, an irresponsible libertine, in order. When he discovers moral decadence, cruelty and corruption at his new home, Juli n's well-meaning but ineffectual attempts to prevent the fall of the House of Ulloa end in tragedy. The House of Ulloa is the finest achievement of Emilia Pardo Baz n, a prolific writer, feminist, traveller and intellectual, and one of the most dynamic figures of her time.Fans of Zola or Hardy will enjoy the novel's rich naturalism, which combines gothic elements with evocative descriptions of Spanish customs and the countryside. At the same time, the novel evokes the social comedy of a Dickens or Thackeray with its biting social satire, frank exposure of sexual mores, and gentle mockery of its innocent hero-priest.

Produktinformationen

    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Seitenzahl: 288
    Erscheinungsdatum: 01.08.2013
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9780141392967
    Verlag: Penguin
Weiterlesen weniger lesen

Kundenbewertungen